Famous winners of the Travelers Championship

You may not realize it, but the Travelers Championship (formerly the Greater Hartford Open) in Cromwell is one of the longest-running events on the PGA Tour. Originally named the Insurance City Open, it was first held in 1952 and has hosted some of the sport’s most legendary names. It’s also been home to legendary names outside of golf. The event became the Sammy Davis Jr. Greater Hartford Open after the entertainer became a fixture in the Pro-Am.

So who are some of the legends who have taken home the Traveler’s trophy? You’ve probably heard of a few of them.


Arnold Palmer

Arnold Palmer

1956, 1960

The legenary Arnold Palmer won for the second time in his career at the 1956 Insurance City Open (as the Travelers was then known). That win would set the stage for a terrific 1957 season that included four professional wins. He went on to capture the 1958 Masters title, and the rest as they say, is history.

Palmer would take home the Insurance City title in 1960, after also winning the Masters and the U.S. Open that year.

In all, he posted 62 career PGA wins and seven major championships. He was named PGA Player of the Year in 1960 and ’62 and was elected into the World Golf Hall of Fame in 1974.

But perhaps his greatest accomplishment is mixing iced tea with lemonade. Now that, my friends, is visionary.



SportzEdge.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s