Moore, Taurasi to start in WNBA All Star Game

Just days after Maya Moore led her Minnesota Lynx team to two consecutive victories over Diana Taurasi and the Phoenix Mercury, the former UCONN Naismith Award winners will take the court side by side in this weekend’s WNBA All Star Game.

After a year hiatus (due to the 2012 London Olympics), the All Star Game is back! For the third time in franchise history, the game will be played at the Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn. And once again, the fans determined who would be starting…bringing in thousands of votes.

Moore (’11) and Taurasi (’04) never played together for UCONN, but the duo will get to suit up in the same uniform as Western Conference starters. The remaining starters for the West include Phoenix rookie center Brittney Griner**, Los Angeles Sparks forward Candace Parker, and Minnesota guard Seimone Augustus.


But, Moore and Taurasi aren’t the only ones with ties to UCONN.

The leading vote-getter this year was rookie sensation Elena Delle Donne, of the Chicago Sky, with 35,646 votes. The second overall 2013 WNBA draft selection and former No. 1 ranked high school recruit, received a scholarship to UCONN in 2008, but left the campus after only a week, citing personal reasons. She then enrolled at her hometown school, the University of Delaware.

Despite such high fan appraisal, Delle Donne may not be able to compete in her first All Star Game, because of a concussion suffered Wednesday in a game against the Washington Mystics.

Former UConn star and reigning WNBA Most Valuable Player, Tina Charles of the Connecticut Sun, would likely take Delle Donne’s place in the starting lineup. Charles finished 1,812 votes behind Angel McCoughtry (Atlanta Dream) for the final starting spot.

Rounding out the starting lineup for the East are Chicago guard Epiphanny Prince, New York Liberty guard Cappie Pondexter, and Indiana Fever forward Tamika Catchings.

Game Details 

The game will be played Saturday, July 27 (3:30, ABC) at Mohegan Sun in Uncasville, Conn.

Here is a complete look at this weekend’s rosters:

Head Coach: Lin Dunn (Indiana Fever)
Player Team Position
Tamika Catchings* Indiana Fever Frontcourt
Tina Charles Connecticut Sun Frontcourt
Elena Delle Donne* Q Chicago Sky Frontcourt
Sylvia Fowles Chicago Sky Frontcourt
Allison Hightower Connecticut Sun Guard
Crystal Langhorne Washington Mystics Frontcourt
Ivory Latta Washington Mystics Guard
Angel McCoughtry* Atlanta Dream Frontcourt
Cappie Pondexter* New York Liberty Guard
Epiphanny Prince* Chicago Sky Guard
Shavonte Zellous Indiana Fever Guard


Head Coach: Cheryl Reeve (Minnesota Lynx)
Player Team Position
Seimone Augustus* Minnesota Lynx Guard
Rebekkah Brunson Minnesota Lynx Frontcourt
Tina Thompson** Seattle Storm Frontcourt
Glory Johnson Tulsa Shock Frontcourt
Maya Moore* Minnesota Lynx Frontcourt
Nneka Ogwumike Los Angeles Sparks Frontcourt
Candace Parker* Los Angeles Sparks Frontcourt
Danielle Robinson San Antonio Silver Stars Guard
Diana Taurasi* Phoenix Mercury Guard
Kristi Toliver Los Angeles Sparks Guard
Lindsay Whalen Minnesota Lynx Guard


* denotes starter. Q denotes questionable.

**Tina Thompson replaces Brittney Griner in starting lineup. Griner is out with injury. provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s