UConn’s Jalen Adams named to Bob Cousy Award Watch List

AP Photo

From UConnHuskies.com:

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – UConn sophomore guard Jalen Adams (Roxbury, Mass.) is one of 20 college basketball players across the country to be named to the watch list for the 2017 Bob Cousy Award, given annually by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and College of the Holy Cross to the top point guard in men’s college basketball.

Former Huskies Kemba Walker (2011) and Shabazz Napier (2014) are past winners of the award.

Named after Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic and Holy Cross guard Bob Cousy, the annual honor now in its 14th year, recognizes the top point guards in Division I men’s college basketball. A national committee comprised of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Cousy played for Holy Cross from 1946-1950 winning an NCAA Championship in 1947. He was named a Consensus First-Team All-American in 1950. His success continued at the professional level as a six-time NBA Champion (1957, 1959-1963), NBA Most Valuable Player (1957) and 13-time NBA All-Star (1951-63). In 1996, he was named a member of the NBA’s 50th Anniversary All-Time Team.

Adams started 11 games for UConn last year as a freshman, averaging 7.3 points, 2.6 rebounds, and 2.4 assists. The Huskies were the No. 1 team in the country in free throw shooting and Adams led the team in that category, hitting at an .863 clip.

Adams’ most memorable moment of the season was his 65-foot buzzer-beater which sent UConn’s quarterfinal game in the American Conference Championship into a fourth overtime. The Huskies eventually won the game and went on to capture the league title. During the tourney, Adams averaged 12.3 points, 4.0 rebounds and 4.7 assists and was named to the All-Tournament Team.

By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Mr. Cousy and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2017 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 7, 2017. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

For more information on the 2017 Bob Cousy Point Guard of the Year Award presented by College of the Holy Cross, log onto http://www.CousyAward.com.

2017 Bob Cousy Award Watch List

Jalen Adams


Maurice Watson Jr.


Jack Gibbs


Frank Jackson


Nigel Williams-Goss


Monte Morris

Iowa St.

Frank Mason


De’Aaron Fox


Melo Trimble


Joel Berry II

North Carolina

Dennis Smith

North Carolina State

Jawun Evans

Oklahoma State

Lonzo Ball

University of California, Los Angeles

Jordan McLaughlin

University of Southern California

Jalen Brunson


London Perrantes


Seth Allen

Virginia Tech

Markelle Fultz


Brunson Koenig


Edmund Sumner


*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2016-17 season*

SportzEdge.com provides commenting to allow for constructive discussion on the stories we cover. In order to comment here, you acknowledge you have read and agreed to our Terms of Service. Commenters who violate these terms, including use of vulgar language or racial slurs, will be banned. Please be respectful of the opinions of others. If you see an inappropriate comment, please flag it for our moderators to review.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s